Top Ten Tuesday – Recommendations

 toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday 

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Books I Read Based on Recommendations

 22752127

1. The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

Recommended by Owlcrate. I 100% would not have picked up this book. I didn’t know what it was, what it would be about, or even what genre it fit into. I was hesitant to pick it up, but OMG, it is one of my favorite books of 2016. Thanks, Owlcrate!

My_lady_Jane.jpg

2. My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows. 

Recommended by Uppercase and Owlcrate. I was totally bummed when I opened my Owlcrate box and it was the same book I got from Uppercase, but now I know why two subscription boxes chose the same book that month. It was awesome. It made me laugh and I loved every minute.

9014

3. The Long Walk by Stephen King writing as Richard Bachman.

Recommended by my stepmom. She knows I enjoy Stephen King and she’s read nearly everything he’s ever written. I was not a fan of the Bachman book I read, but she sent me home on the plane with this in my bag and I finished it mid flight. It was AWESOME.

 

4. The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster.

Recommended by my husband. My husband is not a reader, but he did do some reading when he was younger. He’s blessed because nearly everything he’s recommended (which is 99% of what he’s ever read) is amazing. I wish I could live my life without reading bad books! The Phantom Tollbooth is one of my absolute favorite middle grade novels.

5. Don’t Breathe A Word by Jennifer McMahon.

Recommended by my best friend Jess. She doesn’t read a whole lot, but she told me I had to read the book because it freaked her out. Sold. Doesn’t take much to get me to read something when you say it scares you. It was amazing and now I’ve devoured all of her books. She’s a favorite author of mine.

6. The Radleys by Matt Haig. 

Recommended by my friend Keri, fellow lover of vampires. The Radleys would have never ended up on my radar, but I’m glad I read it. It was the perfect blend of the horror of vampires mixed with the temptations and motivations of normal people, especially families. A very awesome book.

Red_rising.jpg

7. Red Rising by Pierce Brown. 

Recommended by my friend Alina, fellow lover of fantasy. She worked at Barnes and Noble and we got to talking about books at the comic book shop one night. She told me Red Rising was a must read and I had it sitting on my kindle for ages. She was so right.. It was my favorite 2015 book, along with the sequel. I love the trilogy so much and I’m not sure I would have read it otherwise.

8. The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. 

Recommend by my little brother. When my brother was 8, he begged me to buy him the first book when he visited me over the summer. I bought it, but could not get him to read it. I looked at the back and thought it was something that sounded kind of cool. I devoured the whole series that summer.

9. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck.

Recommended by my husband. I hated Grapes of Wrath. It was so long and drawn out. My husband said Of Mice and Men was a million times better, so I finally broke down and read the copy I’ve had on my shelf for ages. I cried and he laughed at me and said “I told you so!” Great moment.

10. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.

Recommended by a friend of a friend. I still wasn’t convinced until that friend’s sister said she hated it because it was brutal and the heroine isn’t saved before horrible stuff happens. Nothing will make me want to read a romance faster than realizing it’s not a happily ever after everything is perfect story. I loved it.

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Recommendations

Leave a Reply

