Review – American Gods by Neil Gaiman

 

American Gods

By Neil Gaiman

SummaryDays before his release from prison, Shadow’s wife, Laura, dies in a mysterious car crash. Numbly, he makes his way back home. On the plane, he encounters the enigmatic Mr Wednesday, who claims to be a refugee from a distant war, a former god and the king of America.

Together they embark on a profoundly strange journey across the heart of the USA, whilst all around them a storm of preternatural and epic proportions threatens to break.

Scary, gripping and deeply unsettling, American Gods takes a long, hard look into the soul of America. You’ll be surprised by what – and who – it finds there…


Source: I purchased a beautiful hardcover from Barnes and Noble

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I absolutely loved American Gods

The book seems to be one that people either love or hate. Gaiman’s work in general seems to be something people either love or hate and I’m definitely on the love side, as much as I dislike being part of any bandwagon.. Gaiman is extremely popular and there’s always some part of me that scoffs at that sometimes because I’m always looking to figure out why something is all the rage.

I thought the book was brilliant. It was intriguing, had a unique concept that was well executed, and appealed to my love of dark fantasy and the idea of gods running around with my love of understanding belief, and the concepts that drive human beings, mainly Americans. It was the perfect book for me and I highly recommend it. 

I honestly don’t understand why there are so many negative reviews of this book. I’ve read a couple other Gaiman titles and American Gods has been my favorite so far. I love the concept and I thought it was well executed. I loved seeing the story through Shadow, as he was a character I both empathized with and was curious about. There were a lot of characters in the book and it could have easily been confusing, but I was genuinely interested in each and every character, god, and backstory I got. It seemed as if Gaiman masterly wove a tale and juggled many aspects and characters quite flawlessly.

I do think it’s necessary to point out that American Gods is an adult novel with a few scenes that, while not necessarily graphic, allude to subject matter that’s probably not appropriate for kids. Gaiman’s books are quite popular in the YA crowd, which is the only reason I mention it. As an adult, I think his books are right up there with Stephen King in terms of creating a fantastic world with a great concept that sucks you in with the writing style and has occasional allusions to adult activities. I wouldn’t call Gaiman crude, but there do seem to be reviews that seemed to think most of the focus was about this weird scene and how Shadow’s wife found herself in the situation she was in, but I think it’s only noticeable if you never pick up an adult book. 

I highly recommend American Gods

Star 5

 

Leave a Reply

