Review – Another Little Piece by Kate Karyus Quinn

 

Another Little Piece

By Kate Karyus Quinn

SummaryOn a cool autumn night, Annaliese Rose Gordon stumbled out of the woods and into a high school party. She was screaming. Drenched in blood. Then she vanished.


A year later, Annaliese is found wandering down a road hundreds of miles away. She doesn’t know who she is. She doesn’t know how she got there. She only knows one thing: She is not the real Annaliese Rose Gordon.

Now Annaliese is haunted by strange visions and broken memories. Memories of a reckless, desperate wish . . . a bloody razor . . . and the faces of other girls who disappeared. Piece by piece, Annaliese’s fractured memories come together to reveal a violent, endless cycle that she will never escape—unless she can unlock the twisted secrets of her past.

Source: I purchased a kindle copy.

Add to Goodreads

Review:

Another Little Piece has been on my Kindle for awhile and I finally decided to pick up when I was in the mood for something a bit creepy and interesting. I loved the fact that it was a standalone because finding standalone YA novels that aren’t contemporary is a difficult thing and I feel like I always appreciate those books a bit more.

The book had a great premise with some pretty interesting twists and turns, but it was a bit disorganized and the execution left a lot to be desired. It was a confusing book, but it didn’t have to be that way, so I felt a little frustrated and the fact that it was short and I seemed to be getting through it relatively quickly ended up being my main motivation for finishing. 

Despite how frustrating and slightly confusing the book was, I did enjoy the plot overall. I thought it was unique and a bit creepy and definitely creative. I think I’d still recommend the book, especially if you are prepared and you know it’s a bit awkward to wade through because I feel like the end result was almost worth it.

Annaliese had a complete loss of memory, but was it really Annaliese at all? Or something more sinister. Was she really a monster? And what would she do if she couldn’t control it? 

I think Another Little Piece would work well as a movie. 

Star 3

Leave a Reply

