Review – This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1)

By Victoria Schwab

SummaryThere’s no such thing as safe.

Kate Harker wants to be as ruthless as her father. After five years and six boarding schools, she’s finally going home to prove that she can be.
August Flynn wants to be human. But he isn’t. He’s a monster, one that can steal souls with a song. He’s one of the three most powerful monsters in a city overrun with them. His own father’s secret weapon.
Their city is divided.
Their city is crumbling.
Kate and August are the only two who see both sides, the only two who could do something.
But how do you decide to be a hero or a villain when it’s hard to tell which is which?
 

Source: I received a hardcover in my Owlcrate box.

Owlcrate_July.jpeg

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I received This Savage Song in an Owlcrate box and I wanted it very badly. While I haven’t read any of Schwab’s YA novels, I really enjoyed Vicious and I knew she had the ability to wow me with a tale of monsters. I was right. I LOVED This Savage Song. It was unique, interesting, well executed, and awesome with characters I loved immediately. I really enjoyed August’s character and the way he fought internally over his humanity. I loved Kate and her desire to be fierce and unforgiving. 

In a fast paced adventure, August Flynn debated what it meant to be human, attempted to feed without falling, and Kate Harker struggled over where she fit in with her father keeping her away from Verity. She did everything she could to come home, only she knew she had a lot to prove to a person she wasn’t sure she trusted. I love that the story, while still fast paced and full of betrayal and close calls, took the time to talk about what it meant to be human, what being a good person was about, and I felt like I fully understood the weight of each choice the characters had to make. Vicious did a similar thing, so I feel like the author really cuts to the heart of good and evil in her books and I can’t wait to read more of her novels.

Schwab is an author to look out for. She’s extremely talented and I love the way she writes. The plot of This Savage Song was unique, but the idea of a hero losing his humanity and a heroine attempting to be fierce are not new to the YA sphere and the book could have easily turned into another forgettable YA adventure if placed in another author’s hands. Schwab balanced complexity with adventure and she did it well!

I cannot gush enough about This Savage Song. I was so afraid it would disappoint me because I had such high expectations after reading Vicious. Fortunately, it appears the author isn’t going anywhere and she’s putting out some pretty amazing work! I highly recommend the book if the synopsis intrigues you. I don’t know that it would appeal to those who stick to the contempories and other realistic fiction, but for lovers of fantasy or alternate worlds and strange creatures, it’s awesome. 

Star 5

Leave a Reply

