Review – My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

 

My Lady Jane

By Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

SummaryThe comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.


At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane is about to become the Queen of England.


Source: I received a hardcover in an Owlcrate and an Uppercase box. 

Add to Goodreads

Review:

My Lady Jane was written by three authors I totally love, but I wasn’t sure that it was really the kind of book I would enjoy. It stayed on myself for awhile until I kept hearing about how entertaining it was. I picked it up when I was in the mood for some laughs and something entertaining and I’m glad I finally read it!

My Lady Jane was awesome. It was funny, full of references (even Monty Python references), jokes, and tons of emotions. It was a lighthearted and fictional take on a historical event and I was definitely rooting for all of the characters. The main character was Lady Jane Grey, cousin to King Edward. Edward was sick and convinced to give up the crown to Jane in the event of his death. To help speed up the process to get Jane to have some heirs, she was married to Gifford Dudley right away, who happened to the Duke’s son. How convenient. In this world, there were shapeshifters and a ton of conflict revolving around them and much of the story centers on the conflict and the existence of these creatures. For example, Gifford Dudley spent much of his time as a horse. And Edward’s father, the previous King, was a lion. The whole book was great fun. It was adventurous and Jane was a character who appealed to the book nerds reading… She loved to read and learn new things, above all else. 

I highly recommend My Lady Jane. It’s just so much fun! There is way too much horribly serious and dramatic YA fiction out there and this book was just so refreshing! The tone was perfect. The characters were worth rooting for. The story was charming, the adventure kept me guessing, and the entire plot was unique and fun. I can’t imagine how anyone wouldn’t enjoy the book unless you were just completely not expecting humor. I am so glad I finally picked it up. I was super bummed to receive it twice and I didn’t think I’d like it, so I’m relieved and excited that it was so much fun. Now I realize why two amazing book box subscriptions had it that month!

Star 5

Leave a Reply

