Review – Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1) by Morgan Rhodes


Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1)

By Morgan Rhodes

SummaryIn the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword….

Source: I purchased a Kindle copy.

Add to Goodreads


I enjoyed Falling Kingdoms and I liked it well enough to want to continue the series. It had the adventure and magic and romance I love in YA fantasy and I flew through it relatively quickly.

The plot was fast paced and there was a lot going on. The land was split into three countries, the north, Limeros, the dying middle, Paelsia, and the rich south, Auranos. The book was mainly from the points of view of Magnus, son of the King of Limeros, Cleo, the Princess of Auranos, and Jonas in Paelsia, though other points of view were peppered in as well to give the full picture. 

I have to admit, while I enjoyed the book and I dove right into book two, Falling Kingdoms was not without flaws. The writing left a lot to be desired at times and the characters seemed a tad juvenile. I felt like there was some improvement as the book went on, but if you’re reading this after anything Sarah J. Maas or any adult fantasy, I recommend coming back to it later after you’ve read something contemporary and light because it will not stack up to something of that caliber. However, I sense a lot of room for improvement and I’m invested in the characters and the struggle, so I will continue the series and be entertained. 

Falling Kingdoms had a great plot that was full of mayhem, violence, miscommunication, romance, power struggles, and much more and I was definitely flipping the pages to see what would happen next. I can’t wait to see what the second book will bring and I feel like I won’t be disappointed. I would recommend the book, but like I said, I wouldn’t recommend reading it after a really earth shattering fantasy because it just won’t be as good. As long as you aren’t expecting the next Throne of Glass novel, it was a lot of fun and action packed. Because I was thoroughly invested and entertained, I have to give it four stars instead of three. I’m definitely not mad about having purchased books 2 and 3 and I’m eager to begin the next book!

Star 4


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s