Review – Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #3) by Morgan Rhodes

 

Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #3) 

By Morgan Rhodes

Summary: In GATHERING DARKNESS, book three of the New York Times bestselling Falling Kingdoms series, the stakes have never been higher as three teams push forward on a race to find the Kindred, the four elemental crystals possessing ancient all-powerful magic, first:

Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred – the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic…

• THE KRAESHIANS join the hunt. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the wealthy kingdom across the Silver Sea, charm and manipulate their way to the Kindred, proving to be more ruthless than perhaps even the King of Blood himself.

• THE REBELS forge ahead. Princess Cleo and vengeful Jonas lead them, slaying with sweetness, skill, and a secret that can control Lucia’s overpowering magic – all so they can use the Kindred to win back their fallen kingdoms.

• THE WATCHERS follow Melenia out of the Sanctuary. They ally in the flesh with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia’s powers to unveil the Kindred.

The only certainty in the dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica… but fate can be fickle when magic is involved.

Source: I purchased a Kindle copy.

Add to Goodreads

Review:

Gathering Darkness was the third book in the Falling Kingdoms series and it was full of action, betrayals, and rebellion. Some of the alliances that sprung up in book 2 were shattered in this installment, while new ones were created. I really don’t know who to trust or what the end result will be. 

I em enjoying the series and that’s why I’ve continued to read it. It doesn’t take very long to speed through the pages, so it’s entertaining and intriguing. I’m curious to see what will happen and what the finale will entail. It seems there is more than just the fate of nations at stake now and everyone is letting go of their small personalized thoughts of revenge and gearing up for a much bigger threat than King Gaius, which is the fate of the world.

While I do recommend the series because it’s definitely interesting, I still feel a little frustrated. I had hoped the writing would improve over time since it happens often as authors grow in their series, but it really hasn’t happened and I don’t think it will. The book could be SO MUCH BETTER with just a bit more craft and a bit more character building. I like the story and I do care about the fate of the characters, but it’s not as good as it could be and I’m feeling a tad disappointed as a result. I’m a quick reader and I can finish these books within a day or two, so I don’t waste a whole lot of time on them. If I was a slower reader, I would be a lot more upset with the series as a whole. I will continue the series because now I just want to know what happens to everyone, but it does NOT live up to other books in the same genre, YA or otherwise. If you want a fantasy series that’s like you’re favorite teen show where you can dive in, have fun, and keep your expectations low, then it’s perfect. But if you want the next fantasy series of the YEAR to wow you, look somewhere else.

I am really intrigued by the growing relationship between Cleo and Magnus. I knew that the Jonas thing wasn’t going anywhere and I feel like getting Magnus and Cleo on board and agreeing on stuff could change the fate of Mytica, especially if he can take his blinders off when it comes to his sister.

The Falling Kingdoms series is a fun and entertaining fantasy series for people not looking to commit to anything serious. I’m going to continue, but be warned, it’s not as well written as one might expect.

Star 3

Leave a Reply

