Review – Frozen Tides (Falling Kingdoms #4) by Morgan Rhodes

 

Frozen Tides (Falling Kingdoms #4)

By Morgan Rhodes

SummaryRebels, royals, and monsters wage war over the Mytican throne in the shocking fourth book of the Falling Kingdoms series, from New York Times bestselling author Morgan Rhodes.

CLEO: Reeling after a bloody showdown in Limeros ending with Amara’s abduction of the water crystal, and a vacancy in the Mytican throne, Princess Cleo must cast aside her feelings and look toward her kingdom with the eyes of a Queen.

MAGNUS: With the kingdom in chaos, Princess Lucia still missing and quite possibly in danger, and a shocking realization about Cleo, the steely prince is once again torn between love and duty, leaving him wondering whether he’s strong enough to rule his people.

LUCIA: The young sorceress has had her vengeance after the cruel death of her first and only love. Heartbroken and unable to trust anyone, she allies with the awoken Fire god, who also seeks revenge.

JONAS: After escaping death by the skin of his teeth, the defeated rebel—along with a mysterious stranger–leader reunites with Princess Cleo, only to find himself a mere pawn in a dangerous hunt for the elusive Kindred.

KING GAIUS: Abandoned by Melenia and betrayed by his own children, Gaius flees Mytica and sails to Kraeshia, where he attempts to ally with the famously brutal emperor across the Silver Sea. 

Source: I borrowed a Kindle copy from my library

Add to Goodreads

Review:

This is such a weird situation for me to be in. I enjoyed the book, but I also don’t think it’s very good. I mean, maybe I just need to explain it better. Just when I’m rolling my eyes wondering what on earth I’m doing reading the book, I realize I’ve already read so much of it, I might as well keep going. And then something will hook me, I’ll be into it, back out of it, and then there’s always something awesome at the end that makes me want the next book. It’s no Game of Thrones by a long shot and it’s kind of jumbled and there are so many characters and none of them are particularly complex or likable, but I just want to know what happens.

Frozen Tides was an even bigger mess of unfortunate circumstances, but suddenly, it seemed the already unlikely alliance added a few more unlikely candidates to their group, which made it even shakier. Lucia turned to what could be the Mytica version of The Dark Side and was drunk on her own power, doing unspeakable things and even alienating her brother. Cleo and Magnus were the only characters I really cared about at this point, but King Gaius was even more drunk on his power than his crazy elementia daughter. It was just a big giant mess. Amara was deliciously evil, but somehow slightly likable, as she’s been throughout the series. 

I enjoyed the plot. I finally got a little bit of a moment with Cleo and Magnus that I wanted, despite their reluctance to participate in liking each other one bit. Jonas didn’t seemed to have learned anything, and towards the end, I wanted to hit Nic over the head. If he’s so into Asher, why does he always act like a jealous lover with Cleo and her choices? Gah. It’s maddening.

Essentially, Falling Kingdoms is my new guilty pleasure. I love it, even though I kind of cringe at my own enjoyment. It’s not eloquent. The characters are lacking a lot of great complexities and the conflict is kind of simplistic if you really get down to it. But somehow, I’m totally hooked. I want to know what happens and I plan on seeing this through. I’m even planning on reading the spin off series. 

I recommend the Falling Kingdoms series as long as you know what you are getting. Despite the beautiful cover and fantastic synopsis, the book is not the in depth and brilliant fantasy series you might expect. But it’s fun. Make some popcorn, dig in, and I’m sure you’ll be just as hooked if you see it from that aspect. Otherwise, it is likely to disappoint you. And if you don’t dive into good fantasy for the writing, you’ll love this series. It’s fun, it’s full of backstabbing and betrayals and alliances and rebellions. And romance. I can’t help it. I’m preordering the next book. 

Star 4

Leave a Reply

