Review – Hammered (Iron Druid Chronicles #3) by Kevin Hearne

 

Hammered (Iron Druid Chronicles #3)

By Kevin Hearne

SummaryThor, the Norse god of thunder, is worse than a blowhard and a bully—he’s ruined countless lives and killed scores of innocents. After centuries, Viking vampire Leif Helgarson is ready to get his vengeance, and he’s asked his friend Atticus O’Sullivan, the last of the Druids, to help take down this Norse nightmare.

One survival strategy has worked for Atticus for more than two thousand years: stay away from the guy with the lightning bolts. But things are heating up in Atticus’s home base of Tempe, Arizona. There’s a vampire turf war brewing, and Russian demon hunters who call themselves the Hammers of God are running rampant. Despite multiple warnings and portents of dire consequences, Atticus and Leif journey to the Norse plain of Asgard, where they team up with a werewolf, a sorcerer, and an army of frost giants for an epic showdown against vicious Valkyries, angry gods, and the hammer-wielding Thunder Thug himself. 

Source: I purchased a paperback

Add to Goodreads

Review:

Hammered was the third book in the incredibly entertaining Iron Druid Chronicles. This time, Atticus had to fulfill his promises to other people, beginning with stealing the apple in Asgard and then aligning with Leif to finally take down Thor. 

I love this series because it’s fun and Atticus is such a charismatic, sarcastic, and generally smug character, despite getting into life and death situations and barely coming out of them alive. There’s something so hilarious about the fact that he’s still so smug and sure that he will succeed. It’s been a couple of years since I read the first two books, but honestly, I think that’s for the best. The series is fun, but I imagine it can be too much to read all in one go. There’s not a whole lot that needs to be remembered, so jumping back into the series wasn’t an issue at all for me and it made me appreciate Atticus all the more instead of wanting to roll my eyes (because he kind of makes you want to do that sometimes).

Hammered dealt mostly with the plot to take down Thor. It didn’t feature Oberon or the widow or even his apprentice very much, so it was a bit different, but I felt like I got to know Gunnar and Leif more and get their back stories. I flew through the pages, but I have to admit that I missed Oberon. However, the end of the book drew me back in with the introduction of some strange presence in  Arizona that I’m sure Atticus will have to address before moving elsewhere. I loved the back stories of the alchemist and the wizard and their personal issues with Thor, along with the various interactions with squirrels and frost giants. Atticus has a way with words and he makes any potentially dangerous situation a little safer with his comedic timing.

I recommend the Iron Druid Chronicles if you’re looking for a fun urban fantasy that is full of geek pop culture references (Jesus literally quotes Monty Python’s Holy Grail and I laughed out loud) and a charming and quite over the top hero who gets into all sorts of crazy shenanigans. I love the references to all sorts of mythology and religions and the way the author weaves them together and creates a variety of characters with their own motivations and goals. It’s great fun, but it can be too much to binge read the series. I don’t know that I could really handle it, so I have them on my shelves for when the mood strikes. I was in kind of a book rut and this series made me laugh so much and genuinely enjoy myself, revitalizing my reading life. The series is like a hilarious version of American Gods and Atticus even praises author Neil Gaiman at one point!

 

Star 4

Leave a Reply

