Review – My Name Is Memory by Ann Brashares

 

My Name is Memory

By Ann Brashares

SummaryFrom the New York Times-bestselling author of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants and The Last Summer (of You and Me) comes an imaginative, inspired, magical book-a love story that lasts more than a lifetime

Daniel has spent centuries falling in love with the same girl. Life after life, crossing continents and dynasties, he and Sophia (despite her changing name and form) have been drawn together-and he remembers it all. Daniel has “the memory”, the ability to recall past lives and recognize souls of those he’s previously known. It is a gift and a curse. For all the times that he and Sophia have been drawn together throughout history, they have also been torn painfully, fatally, apart. A love always too short.
Interwoven through Sophia and Daniel’s unfolding present day relationship are glimpses of their expansive history together. From 552 Asia Minor to 1918 England and 1972 Virginia, the two souls share a long and sometimes torturous path of seeking each other time and time again. But just when young Sophia (now “Lucy” in the present) finally begins to awaken to the secret of their shared past, to understand the true reason for the strength of their attraction, the mysterious force that has always torn them apart reappears. Ultimately, they must come to understand what stands in the way of their love if they are ever to spend a lifetime together.
A magical, suspenseful, heartbreaking story of true love, My Name is Memory proves the power and endurance of a union that was meant to be.

Source: I purchased a paperback from a used bookstore.

Add to Goodreads

Review:

My Name is Memory was the story of Lucy and Daniel. Lucy was a girl in high school with a crush on the quiet and mysterious Daniel. And Daniel was gifted with the memory, meaning he remembered all of his past lives and had known Lucy in most of them. But he scared her away by trying to explain all of that and calling her someone else’s name.

First of all, I feel like this is the non angel/paranormal version of Fallen by Lauren Kate with Daniel knowing Luce, Luce being drawn to him, and him having to explain that they’ve always known each other. I’m actually a little annoyed because even the names are practically the same. The books were published right around the same time, so I can’t really say anything about rip offs, but it’s just weird.I did not enjoy My Name is Memory but mostly because it felt like a cheap knockoff of a better concept. It was Twilight and Fallen and  The Time Traveler’s Wife all rolled into something similar. The writing was more young YA/older MG despite the entire concept being about relationships and true love, which made it a bit diffiicult to read.

I don’t know that I recommend My Name is Memory. I really wanted to like it and I was in the mood to read a YA book dealing with romance and I wasn’t expecting anything super well written or even hard hitting, so I’m a little surprised that I didn’t enjoy it even a little. It just felt hopeless and slow. And towards the middle it was predictable. The ending was less than satisfying, too. 

Sometimes my trips to the used bookstore result in hidden gems and awesome lesser known books, but this is not one of them.

Star 2

One thought on “Review – My Name Is Memory by Ann Brashares

  1. After Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, I’m not really sure that I’m a fan of Brashares, though it’s disappointing to hear that this seems to be a knockoff of other well-known books. Sorry it wasn’t as good as you were hoping. Hopefully you’ll find something better soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

