2016 End of the Year Book Survey

 

2016 End of the Year Book Survey (7th Annual)

Created/hosted by Perpetual Page Turner

 

Number Of Books You Read: 157
Number of Re-Reads: I don’t count rereads in my Goodreads Stats, so I’m not sure of the exact number. (I reread some books as the finales or the sequels came out and I reread the Harry Potter series just because I wanted to)
Genre You Read The Most From: YA Fantasy

 

1. Best Book You Read In 2016? 

ACoMaF.jpgRed_rising.jpg
22752127Heart_Shaped_box.jpgIlluminae.jpg
  • YA Fantasy: A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2) by Sarah J. Maas
  • Mystery/Suspense: You by Caroline Kepnes
  • Finale: Morning Star (Red Rising #3) by Pierce Brown
  • Debut Fantasy: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
  • Debut Contemporary: The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
  • Horror: Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill
  • YA SciFi: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

25467698The_gunslinger.jpg

The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry

The Gunslinger (Dark Tower #1) by Stephen King

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

Misery.jpg
Misery by Stephen King. 
I have seen the movie many times and I didn’t realize how much darker and more compelling the book would be. I was pleasantly surprised.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Heart_Shaped_box.jpg

 Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Illuminae.jpgACoMaF.jpg
  • Beginner – Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
  • Sequel – ACOMAF by Sarah J. Maas
  • Ender – Morning Star by Pierce Brown

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Vicious.jpgThis_savage_song.jpg

 Victoria/V.E. Schwab. I loved Vicious, her adult series, and This Savage Song, one her of YA series.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Fast_food_nation.jpgQuiet.jpg

Fast Food Nation by Eric Schlosser. I don’t read much Nonfiction, but it was pretty interesting. 

Quiet by Susan Cain. Another nonfiction gem that really spoke to me.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

 Morning_star_red_rising.jpg

 Morning Star by Pierce Brown. 

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

13094318_814996111939147_1459218453902353083_n

 The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. I wanted to re-experience the series the moment I finished.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

The_Replacement.jpg

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff 

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

You.jpg

 Joe from You by Caroline Kepnes. 

He was such a compelling character, a crazy stalker you couldn’t help but agree with half of the time. I loved being in his head!

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

173785271461350888341

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater. 

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

Challenger_deep.jpg

 Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman. 

It was such an amazing tale of mental illness. I absolutely recommend it. It’s a MUST READ.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

Hamlet.jpg

 Hamlet by Shakespeare. For some reason, we never read it in school, but I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016? 

 
“You have me. Until every last star in the galaxy dies. You have me.” – Illuminae

16. Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Winter.jpg
Shortest: Bring Her Wolf (Bring Her Wolf #1) by Michelle Fox
Longest: Winter by Marissa Meyer

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

ACoMaF.jpg

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. The amount of gasps and twists and just overall emotions swirling through me was over the top. Best roller coaster ride!

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

ACoMaF.jpg

 Feyre and Rhysand.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Wolf_hollow.jpg

Annabelle and Toby from Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk. He was a somewhat strange veteran and she was a young girl being bullied. 

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

American_Gods_Anansi_Boys.jpg

American Gods by Neil Gaiman. I loved The Graveyard Book years ago, but I never imagined how amazing American Gods would be.

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

Illuminae.jpg

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. I heard so much about it, but when I picked it up in the store, it wasn’t even really a novel. It was one of those books with transcripts and weird pages. Typically, I just can’t get into those books, but I kept hearing so much hype that I finally decided to buy it. It was SUCH AN AMAZING NOVEL!

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

ACoMaF.jpg

Rhysand from ACOMAF by Sarah J. Maas. If I’m being honest, I hated his guts in the first book. Never imagined I’d turn myself around! 

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

IMG_1625

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner. Hands down, my absolute favorite book that has come in an Owlcrate that I’ve read so far. I literally sobbed for like the last 100+ pages. It was amazing. 

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

Star_touched_queen.jpg

 The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

1466129654408

 My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows. I didn’t even really want to read it, but it was so hilarious and so much fun.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

IMG_1637

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner. So many tears. 

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

25324111You_were_here.jpg

And I Darken by Kiersten White and You Were Here by Cori McCarthy. 

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

22752127

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner. 

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

Illuminae.jpg

 Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. As I’ve mentioned already, it’s not a novel. It’s a combination of articles, tapes, transcripts, code, etc. No actual novel portions at all. But so well done!

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Wink_poppy_midnight.jpg
 Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke. I love her writing, but I hate her stories. It just feels like such a waste of talent when the writing is great, but the story isn’t interesting. I’m so frustrated by her books because I know that she has so much potential. 
 
 
looking-ahead-books-2015
 
 

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Empire_of_storms_throne_of_glass.jpg

 Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas.

 

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

28145767

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor.

Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

Owlcrate.jpg

 I’m not really sure what’s coming out, but my Owlcrate books should be debuts!

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

Now I Rise by Kiersten White

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab 

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

Books.gif

 I hope to stick to some sort of book buying ban and work on reading the many books I own.

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

Wintersong.jpg
Wintersong by S. Jae Jones.

 

To fill out your own End of the Year Survey, check out Perpetual Page Turner!

 

One thought on “2016 End of the Year Book Survey

Leave a Reply

