Feature and Follow Friday – Best and Worst of 2016

feature-and-follow

Feature and Follow Friday

Hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read

This week’s prompt:

Best and worst reads for 2016.
Which would you recommend, which would you not?

 

Best books I read that were 2016 releases:

Red_rising.jpgA_court_of_mist_and_fury.jpgWolf_hollow.jpg

Morning Star (Red Rising #3) by Pierce Brown – For the SciFi and Greek Mythology lover

A Court of Mist and Fury (ACOTAR #2) by Sarah J. Maas – For the Fantasy/Romance lover

Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk – For the historical fiction/middle grade lover

 

Best books I read in 2016 that were released previously:

Illuminae.jpgHeart_Shaped_box.jpgAmerican_Gods_Anansi_Boys.jpg

Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #01) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – Most unique sci-fi book I’ve ever read

Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill – Horror done even better than the King

American Gods by Neil Gaiman – Now I know why everyone loves Gaiman

 

Worst books I read that were 2016 releases:

Wink_poppy_midnight.jpgEverland.jpg

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke – Awesome writing, horrible plot. I’m waiting for the day the author uses her amazing writing ability to tell a story I want to read.

Everland by Wendy Spinale – I think you have to be a HUGE steampunk AND Peter Pan fan to even remotely enjoy this awful mashup of concepts

Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan – Great concept, awful execution. Unless you like YA tropes and teenage girls saving the world. 

 

Worst books I read in 2016 that were released previously:

Geralds_Game.jpg

Gerald’s Game by Stephen King – My absolute least favorite Stephen King book ever. 

In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume – The ending was purposely not satisfying. Unless you think the end of your life should involve reflecting on all of the choices you regret. 

The Astronaut Wives Club by Lily Koppel – I’ve seen high school essays better organized than this. The material was interesting, but the organization and execution was absolutely terrible. 

One thought on “Feature and Follow Friday – Best and Worst of 2016

  1. I started the Red Rising series and I was pleasantly surprised. I’m not even a big fan of dystopias but this one really kept me on the edge of my seat. Great post!

    New twitter follower!

    Like

Leave a Reply

