Review – A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

 

A Monster Calls

By Patrick Ness

SummaryThe monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

Add to Goodreads

Source: I purchased a paperback

Review:

A Monster Calls has been on my radar for quite some time, but I never picked it up for some reason. I suppose the illustrations made me think it would be too juvenile or something. With the movie out, I’ve been seeing it around more, seeing other reviews, and the previews for the movie, so I felt it was time to finally pick it up. I had been warned multiple times that the book would be sad and it would make me cry, but I didn’t quite believe that I would be so moved by such a short novel.

A Monster Calls is the kind of story that will stay with me forever. It was so incredible. It was powerful and moving. 

I did cry. I ugly cried and sobbed and gasped and loved it so much. 

It’s hard to really go into detail because I didn’t know what to expect and I think it’s best that way. A boy encountered a monster who would tell him three stories. And the boy would tell him a fourth. The boy was sad, angry, and tormented by nightmares. 

I cannot gush about the book enough. I never expected to like to so much. I see why it has won so many awards and received such high praises. It is a story we need and one I recommend. Not only is it enjoyable to read, but it perfectly describes the way guilt eats at us. 

A Monster Calls is a must read. It’s short, so there’s no reason not to pick it up and add it to your to-read list. Trust me, you’ll be happy you did. Just.. bring some tissues. You WILL cry. 

Star 5

2 thoughts on “Review – A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Leave a Reply

