Feature and Follow Friday – Books Change You

 feature-and-follow

Feature and Follow Friday
Hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read
This week’s prompt:

What was the first book that moved you? Scared you, made you cry, disturbed your view of the world?

1461350780226

Having been a reader literally my entire life, it’s difficult to even remember the first novel I fell in love with. 

I think part of me loves A Wrinkle in Time by Madeline L’Engle because Meg was plain jane and sort of the outcast and wasn’t particularly good at things and I felt like I identified with that growing up. I was always a tad shy, awkward, and the constant new girl since we moved around so much.

As an older kid, books like Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury and The Giver by Lois Lowry introduced me to the dystopia genre and let me know that it’s not always right to listen to the rules. You have to think for yourself. Are these rules worth following? Am I doing what is right? At the same time, we also read Night by Elie Wiesel, so it really hammered those points home. Do not just mindlessly listen to the rules.

As an adult, I remember Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver really making me look back at who I was in high school. I was so awkward and afraid of being uncool, but did anyone know that? Was I a follower or a mean girl when my friends were? Did I laugh at the less fortunate? It was really eye opening and slightly uncomfortable.

IT by Stephen King terrified me. The movie scared me as a kid, but the book was still scary, even knowing the gist of the story, as an adult.

After being married, reading The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks made me cry because it forced me to think about a life in which I didn’t have my husband. It forced me to look into the future and the reality that one of us may forget our own life story. It was sad on so many levels. 

And of course, reading the Bible as an adult definitely disturbed my world view and I had to pick up other text about religion, from atheistic in perspective to historical fact, in order to better understand what I believed.  

Leave a Reply

