5 Things on Sunday – Try New Things

5 Things on Sunday

Hosted by Reads and Treats

 

New Things to Try

I’m going to try….

1. Actually sticking to a book buying ban.

I already get a monthly Owlcrate, so I’m guaranteed a new book every month. I’m moving soon, so the least I can do is stop going to the bookstore to buy more physical books. I’ll limit myself to trading a stack of books for a much smaller stack at the used bookstore, my monthly Owlcrate, and Kindle book deals I just can’t pass up. I feel like that’s beyond fair.

2. A new morning routine. 

I spend way too much time going through email and social media when I wake up instead of hopping out of bed. I am going to try to cut back on this, only address notifications (which I’m not likely to have), and take 5 minutes to do some yoga or stretching. 

3. A strange sporting event.

I worked an event last week at a professional lacrosse game. I was outside of the arena, so I didn’t get to see the game, but it sounded like the crowd was having a great time. My boss got us all tickets and I’m going as a spectator today. I’ve never seen a lacrosse game, nor am I into sports, but I like the idea of trying something different and having fun with coworkers.

4. Less sugar in my coffee.

I actually make lattes every morning because I’ve always preferred them to regular brewed coffee and my espresso machine is amazing. I’ve moved from flavored syrups to Raw Sugar, using 2 packets. My plan is to cut back to 1 packet and eventually make regular lattes. 

5. Wearing lipstick.

I wear makeup everyday and I feel like I’m pretty decent at applying it, but I’ve always stayed away from lipstick. I carry my medicated SPF chapstick and call it a day. I think I’m going to try to wear some pigment on my lips, but that means trying various types of lip color until I find one that doesn’t make my face break out. We’ll see how far this new thing goes..

 

What new things have you tried/will you try?

 

 

5 thoughts on “5 Things on Sunday – Try New Things

    • Ha I’ve been doing good so far since last week on my book buying ban. And I even got Barnes and Noble coupons, email AND in the mail. *sigh*

      The lacrosse game was actually super fun. It was energetic and easy to follow. I would definitely go again! It was fairly short, too, unlike baseball games.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Their marketing department really does know their audience, don’t they?

        That’s good news about the lacrosse. My problem with most sports is I don’t understand the rules enough to figure out what’s going on in the moment. Baseball is easy enough, but American football is kind of difficult.

        Like

  1. Good luck with your book buying ban! Those are so difficult for me! I either 1-click a freebie, or a book I’ve been wanting went on sale. It’s insane! I have no self-control when it comes to books. Hahaha.
    I love lipstick! I just always forget to put it on! And I drink way too much water, I feel like it would come off soon after putting it on. I think I need one of those long-lasting ones…

    Like

Leave a Reply

