Top Ten Tuesday – Unique

 toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

Top Ten Of The Most Unique Books I’ve Read

 

1. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae.jpg

It isn’t even a regular novel. It’s transcripts and art and a story told in one of the most unique ways that actually worked to make the story better instead of just being a gimmick.

 

2. The Princess Bride by William Goldman

438353

I love that there are scenes between the real story in which the boy is being read to. It adds to the story.

 

3. Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

 

I don’t think I’ve ever read anything like Palahniuk’s books ever. They are in a league of their own.

 

4. You by Caroline Kepnes

You.jpg

The second person narration really sucked me in, plus it’s from the POV of a stalker, which is so fascinating.

 

5. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

A_monster_calls.jpg

An illustrated novel about a boy and a monster.. and I need tissues? What?!

 

6. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Virtual reality gaming meets dysfunctional future. It was unique, well done, and completely fascinating.

 

7. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

The series is written in whatever voice the main character is in at the moment. Uglies itself isn’t the brilliant book, but Pretties and Specials take the idea even further. 

 

8. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Aside from Dracula, I think this book was the first I’d read that was in a series of letters. I love the format and I think it worked well for Charlie’s voice. 

 

9. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

Alices_adventures_in_wonderland.jpg

A book where nonsense makes sense that was way ahead of its time. This book is the very definition of unique.

 

10. The Martian by Andy Weir

The_Martian.jpg

I somehow thought I’d be opening up a space drama full of sadness because how else could one feel when he’s stuck on a planet by himself. But Whatney’s dark humor and sarcasm had me laughing. It was NOT a drama. It was such a hilarious and amazing novel that is completely unique. I love the crude humor, the shocking language, and Whatney’s arrogance and pop culture references. It was perfect. 

 

What unique books do you love?

Leave a Reply

