Review – Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

 

Behind Her Eyes

By Sarah Pinborough

SummaryWhy is everyone talking about the ending of Sarah Pinborough’s Behind Her Eyes?

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.

When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar…who says the kiss was a terrible mistake but who still can’t keep his eyes off Louise.

And then Louise bumps into Adele, who’s new to town and in need of a friend, but she also just happens to be married to David. David and Adele look like the picture-perfect husband and wife, but then why is David so controlling, and why is Adele so scared of him?

As Louise is drawn into David and Adele’s orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong, but Louise can’t guess how wrongโ€•and how far a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

Source: I received a hardcover as my Book of the Month Club February Pick

Add to Goodreads

Review:

Behind Her Eyes was a thriller guaranteed to have a twist I wasn’t going to see coming. I love mystery/thrillers, especially ones that aren’t so straightforward, so I couldn’t wait to dive in.

I enjoyed Behind Her Eyes a lot. The set up was one that seemed familiar, but one of those situations where any number of things could blow up in everyone’s face. Louise, a single mom, met a guy in a bar for the first time and actually made a connection. She completely and totally hit it off with the guy, shared a kiss, and left feeling pretty good about herself. Until she realized the guy was her new boss. Her new married boss. Shortly after, Louise bumped into a girl who was new in town, Adele, and they seemed to hit it off as friends. Except Adele was her new boss’s wife. 

So many things could’ve gone wrong and kept me guessing, but the characters themselves were just as captivating as the obviously precarious ledge their situation was teetering on. David seemed so cool and down to earth, but he had fits of rage and pure coldness radiating off of him at times. He seemed to have a drinking problem. Adele was so sweet and encouraging, helping Louise get some of the life back she lost after losing her husband. But she freaked about missing David’s daily calls, seemed scared and behaved like a battered wife. Louise grew to care for them both and couldn’t seem to lose either one of them.

There were a few twists and few things I wasn’t quite sure about. Louise suffered from night terrors and Adele was in a facility for sleep issues and shared some of her tricks for controlling dreams, which seemed to help, but cause Louise other problems. What happened to Adele in that facility? What happened to her friend? Why couldn’t she sleep?

I don’t want to give too much away, but I completely understand why some people didn’t like the end. I loved it, but I love reading books that aren’t straightforward and hover in between genre lines. I think that’s as much as I’ll say so I don’t give too much away. There are people who won’t enjoy the end, but I think, with an open mind, it’s actually a pretty interesting book that surprised me in a lot of ways. I certainly wasn’t expecting it to end the way it did whatsoever and it completely gave me a chill!

I highly recommend Behind Her Eyes! It was my first Book of the Month Club book pick and I think I chose well. 

Star 4

 

Leave a Reply

