5 Things on Sunday – Stress

 5_things_on_Sunday.png

5 Things on Sunday

Hosted by Reads and Treats

Things to do When You’re Stressed

1. Read a crazy book. 

Maybe some people prefer to read something relaxing, but I think I almost enjoy reading something violent and complex where the main character has to juggle all of these dangerous things because it shifts the perspective for me. Here I am all stressed out about X, Y, and Z and this character has much bigger problems.

2. Drive.

My local Barnes and Noble is a bit far away, but it’s right off the of the highway. I realize that I actually enjoy the drive out there because it’s a stretch highway where everyone drives on the right and passes on the left and I’m in the zone, paying attention, just enjoying the thought process of maintaining speed and anticipating the speed of cars around me. 

3. Browse the bookstore.

Shopping for books can be therapeutic, especially in person. I love to feel and hold a book, see the cover in person, and make decisions. I almost never just go off of a list and I just browse. 

4. Yoga.

I’m not a crazy yoga person and I don’t do it that often, but the stretching and moving helps my lower back and hips so I feel like I’m getting the stress out of my body when it doesn’t ache. 

5. Tackle a project.

It seems counterproductive, especially if your stress is largely due to your to-do list. But focusing on one thing at a time and just doing it is so therapeutic to me. I sit down, maybe write out my reviews for the blog, maybe pay some bills and do some budgeting, look up phone numbers of all the places I need to call in the morning. It eases the stress because I feel like I’m making progress on my to-do list, but by not forcing myself to focus on deadlines and just the organization process or just one thing, it eases the overall stress. 

One thought on “5 Things on Sunday – Stress

  1. I hate driving and when I’m stressed it can be hard to even leave the house, but once I’m out it helps (a little). The hard part is figuring out where to go, since I live in a rural farm town. Luckily a small bookstore just opened up, so now I have a close place to go when I’m stressed. ๐Ÿ™‚ These are good suggestions.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

