Review – Horns by Joe Hill

 

Horns

By Joe Hill

SummaryIgnatius Perrish spent the night drunk and doing terrible things. He woke up the next morning with one hell of a hangover, a raging headache . . . and a pair of horns growing from his temples.

Once, Ig lived the life of the blessed: born into privilege, the second son of a renowned American musician, and the younger brother of a rising late-night TV star, Ig had security and wealth and a place in his community. Ig had it all, and more – he had the love of Merrin Williams, a love founded on shared daydreams, mutual daring, and unlikely midsummer magic.
Then beautiful, vivacious Merrin was gone – raped and murdered, under inexplicable circumstances – with Ig the only suspect. He was never tried for the crime, but in the court of public opinion, Ig was and always would be guilty.
Now Ig is possessed with a terrible new power – with just a touch he can see peoples’ darkest desires – to go with his terrible new look, and he means to use it to find the man who killed Merrin and destroyed his life. Being good and praying for the best got him nowhere. It’s time for a little revenge; it’s time the devil had his due.

Source: I purchased a paperback

Add to Goodreads

Review:

Horns has been on my TBR for a few months. I try to grab what Joe Hill books I haven’t read if I see them at a bookstore, but I wait until I’m in just the right mood to open them up. I’ve enjoyed Heart-Shaped Box and NOS4A2, but Horns isn’t quite the same genre. I suppose it’s still horror, but it’s not the same kind. 

I loved Horns. It was easy to get sucked in from the beginning when Ig woke up to a pair of grotesque horns on his head. He thought he was hallucinating, but then his interactions with other people made him think something even worse was happening. For some reason, they noticed the horns but didn’t react in the way anyone would expect and then they would reveal their absolute worst thoughts to him. Was this some sort of punishment?

Horns is really quite brilliant. It was a book about human nature, which is quite terrifying. People are awful and they lie everyday. There Ig was, trying to be a good person, loving everyone with all he had, and it counted for nothing when it really mattered. No one believed he didn’t kill his girlfriend and nothing he seemed to do or say changed the opinions everyone had. Sure, he “got away with it” and wasn’t convicted, but to everyone in his town, including his family, he was guilty. If the premise wasn’t already extremely intriguing, this angle really got me because I just can’t imagine not being believed by people and it would be really awful to walk around in a place where everyone thinks you’re capable of the worst sort of crime. 

Horns was a mix of the supernatural, a murder mystery, a glimpse of a small town life with small town attitudes, a horror, and a bit a dark humor to tie it all together. Joe Hill created characters I immediately couldn’t get enough of. The story bounced from the present, the recent past when Ig and Merrin were together, and the early past as Ig met Merrin, was saved from drowning by Lee, and disappointed his father by not being able to play the horn instruments like his older brother. We got the whole story from multiple sides and it was broken up into chapters/parts that all served different purposes to building the story. It was a story that took me through a small town and the interpersonal connections between everyone and lead me on a dark road with terrifying conclusions. 

I really don’t try to compare Hill to his father, but when I do, it’s nearly always a compliment. It’s really freaking hard to find an author who captures people the way King always does and Hill does it so perfectly. What lies inside of human beings is the really scary part of King’s horror novels and that’s essentially the same in Horns, though Hill creates unique characters and finds his own voice. I’m always impressed when an author really tackles those essences of horror instead of just giving me a bump in the night kind of story and that’s what sets King and Hill apart from the crowd. I love this kind of story and that’s why I compare Hill to King.. I would do it even if I knew they weren’t related. Because they both do exactly what good horror authors should do.

I highly recommend Horns. I really loved Heart-Shaped Box, but I think Horns might actually be better in a lot of ways, so I suppose I have two favorites now.

Star 5

 

One thought on “Review – Horns by Joe Hill

Leave a Reply

