Top Ten Tuesday – Covers

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday

Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week is a cover themed freebie!

 

Top Ten Cover Changes I Love and Hate

 

Cover changes that happen in the middle of a series can be super frustrating, but sometimes I prefer the change:

 

1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. 

The original cover is just so.. sweet looking. And Celaena is NOT sweet. I never would’ve picked up the original cover of the book. 

 

2. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. 

The original cover actually makes me cringe a little bit. I prefer the weird branchy eyes. It conveys how strange the book is. I picked up Shatter Me solely based on the weird eye cover. 

 

3. IT by Stephen King. 

The minimalist cover is actually even better than the previous covers.

 

4. Delirium by Lauren Oliver. 

I’m usually not a fan of faces, but I like the face covers. I don’t know why. 

 

5. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. 

It IS a cute-sy novel, but the new covers are slightly more intriguing than the over the top sweet original cover. The original cover actually made me NOT want to read the book. 

 

 

Sometimes cover changes are upsetting and so unnecessary.

 

1. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton. 

WHY?! *sobs* The original was so freaking stunning. 

 

2. Perfect Ruin by Lauren Destefano. 

The original cover is artsy in the same way the story is. It’s just more eye catching to me. 

 

3. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. 

This has gone through lots of changes, but the final one with the mirror compact is so absolutely not appropriate that it actually makes me mad. Do the people who make cover change decisions even read the books? Even the bottom left is still a little chick-lit looking. The first two are much less misleading. 

 

4. The Diviners by Libba Bray. 

Ugh. The original was so weird and intriguing and 100% why I picked up the book. 

5. Across the Universe by Beth Revis. 

I don’t mind the new covers that much, but the original was a lot better. Maybe I just like space pictures more than weird industrial looking covers. 

 

What cover changes do you love or hate?

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Covers

  1. I really hate when they change covers in the middle of a series. They really ought to keep the same style, or rerelease and start all over. The newer Throne of Glass ones are my favorite.

    There are two I disagree about. I prefer the cracked bird cover for Perfect Ruin, maybe because they’re the only ones I’ve ever seen. Also, while I hate that they changed the US covers half way through, I don’t mind the cover for Rebel in the Sands #2. Now if only they matched!

    Like

  2. I’m so glad that I’m not the only one that feels so strongly about this. I haven’t read rebel of the sands yet but I pushed it down on my list once I saw the cover change. I didn’t even know about The Bell Jar cover with the compact and that’s pretty inappropriate. I really wonder who makes these choices.

    Like

Leave a Reply

