Review – It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

 

It Ends With Us

By Colleen Hoover

SummarySOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.

Source: I purchased a Kindle copy.

Add to Goodreads

Review:

Most of Colleen Hoover’s books are romances that destroy me in a good way. Some of them do have points to make on top of being amazing romances. It Ends With Us is not the same.

It Ends With Us was really good. I highly recommend it, especially if you’re a fan of her other books. She wrote engaging and deep characters you can’t help but care about, like she does in all her other books. She gave me a romance I wanted to root for and a situation destined to explode in everyone’s face somehow, which is also kind of normal for her books. 

The book is very difficult to read, so if you’re sensitive to abuse of any kind, you should not read this book.

The rest of my review, though kind of vague, is still very much a spoiler for anyone who wants to go into the book expecting a Colleen Hoover book and I think it will be different if you read it and you know more about what will happen. I think the book is best read without knowing what it’s about. 

———-

The book dealt with domestic violence and that has impacted the reviews it has. A lot of the negative reviews seem to be from some people who didn’t see it through to the end OR people who wanted a different end. Both opinions are, to me, why this book needs to exist.. at least for people who haven’t been through it themselves.

Domestic violence is something NO ONE should put up with. It’s clear that someone being abused needs to leave… in theory. It is much murkier for the people involved. It’s easy to sit there and judge someone for not leaving when they are being abused when you’ve never dealt with it. I know that because I’ve felt that way. But you don’t know what you don’t know or haven’t been through and the great thing about literature is that it can take you somewhere you’ve never been and that is what It Ends With Us does. It is hard to read about someone who puts up with bits of abuse and not want to tear your hair out. If you want to put the book down and pretend like you know what it’s about, do that. It’s easier on your emotions. It’s a lot harder to keep reading and really put yourself in the person’s shoes. You don’t know how it will end and the title honestly doesn’t help. I wish everyone who DNFed it because they didn’t want to see a character make excuses would have just given it a few more chapters. This wasn’t a book romanticizing abuse. It was a book about abuse and the strength it takes to walk away.

There were times when I was reading it where I thought about how much I wanted to go back to the previous page and just change what happened. I wanted to also give excuses or reasoning. If I wanted to do that for a couple of fictional characters, I can’t even imagine how badly I’d want to do that in real life and THAT is the point of the book. It’s hard to do what needs to be done.

On other hand, there are also negative reviews from people who didn’t like seeing a character walk away from her abusive partner when he was so willing to change. The book exists for those people, too, even if they maybe missed the point a bit. It’s hard to do what needs to be done. It’s easy to just keep seeing something through, hope for change, and believe that love will all work out. Maybe he would change. But what if he didn’t? What happens if/when your child watches you just see it through, just deal with this incident, just clean up the pieces of the glass Dad broke before he he gets mad again, just hope for a better future? People can change… but sometimes they stay the same. What are you willing to risk? What will you put up with?

I really don’t mean to go into this review trashing any opinions if they didn’t like the book because they are completely entitled to hate it, but I feel passionate about this book and why it’s so good because it actually impacted my opinion. I am one of those tough no-one-will-ever-put-their-hands-on-me type of people. OF COURSE you should leave. But the author manipulated the situation for me. I didn’t read the synopsis or anything. I thought I was reading a romance and I wanted so badly to pretend like he wasn’t displaying signs of someone who might snap at any moment. I wasn’t sure what awful thing would happen and then it happened and it crushed me. I wanted to make excuses with the main character after the minor incidents. It was just an accident. Right? It put me into a situation I’ve never been in and it was really easy to see why someone might stay when everything else was so good. It was a constant test of willpower to leave someone you love who loves you. I get it now. I did not quite get it before because I’ve just never been able to put myself in those shoes. Now I have. 

It Ends With Us was a powerful book. I definitely recommend it for anyone who thinks it’s easy to walk away from domestic violence. For people like me (the me I was before this book), who hear about how hard it is to leave, but can’t really empathize and can’t really understand why anyone would stay in an awful situation or even let themselves get into in the first place. People display tendencies well before you’re stuck with them, right? This book is for them. If you’ve dealt with domestic violence, it might not be so good because you might view her as being really weak and it might anger you. I can totally see that. This book is much better for anyone who maybe just never really got domestic violence and thinks leaving would be easy or thinks it’s worth seeing it through because people can change. 

Star 5 

One thought on “Review – It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

