Review – The Shining by Stephen King

 

The Shining

by Stephen King

SummaryPast horrors and evil lurk in Colorado’s Overlook Hotel, threatening winter season caretakers Jack Torrance, his wife Wendy, and their young son, Danny. Gifted with the shining, a clairvoyant Danny must battle the darkest evil in the remote hotel in an attempt to save his family from its influence.

Source: I purchased a paperback

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I’ve seen the movie The Shining a hundred times, both the original and the remake. I’m a huge fan of Stephen King novels and I have a list of books from him that I need to read. I’ve grown up seeing so many of the movies and mini series, but sometimes it takes me awhile to finally pick up the brick of a book and dig in. I read Misery over the fall and realized that the book was even better than the very well made film, so I was excited to pick up The Shining finally. 

I enjoyed The Shining and I will admit that the years and years of seeing the movie has kind of ruined it for me because Jack Nicholson was such a strong and terrifying character. The book wasn’t nearly the same in that regard and I realize now why King has said in the past that he didn’t not enjoy the adaptation due to the casting of Jack Torrance. I get it now. The story is much more of a slow build up as the hotel chips away at Jack’s fears and flaws in order to get to Danny. It was more of a delicate dance than a slasher horror with a crazy father. I am inclined to agree and I think if anyone picked up the book after loving the movie and being disappointed are because they expect more from Jack Torrance that the book doesn’t give. He’s not insane. He’s a troubled man trying to do the right thing, dealing with alcohol abuse, and he finally cracked. 

Anyway, regardless of how anyone feels about the movie, the book was spectacular and enjoyable in a lot of ways I wasn’t expecting. It was still easy to plow through even though I knew the general gist of the book. Some of my favorite movie scenes weren’t there, but there were scenes in the book that were just as amazing that didn’t make it into the film. My favorite part was that Wendy wasn’t an unbearable dimwit in the book. And Danny, while strange, was much more tolerable to me, too. I enjoyed the characters quite a bit. The book was a creepy and haunting book and I’m glad I picked it up. I definitely recommend it to any King fans.

Star 4

 

3 thoughts on “Review – The Shining by Stephen King

  1. The Shining is probably the scariest book I ever read–and I made sure to read it in broad daylight and never before bed. The psychologically chilling downward spiral that Jack goes through and how the hotel comes to life was horrifying. The movie didn’t scare me at all, unlike the book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

