Review – Those Girls by Chevy Stevens

 

Those Girls

By Chevy Stevens

SummaryChevy Stevens is back with her most powerful, emotional thriller yet— a story of survival…and revenge. 

Life has never been easy for the three Campbell sisters. Jess, Courtney, and Dani live on a remote ranch in Western Canada where they work hard and try to stay out of the way of their father’s fists. One night, a fight gets out of hand and the sisters are forced to go on the run, only to get caught in an even worse nightmare when their truck breaks down in a small town. Events spiral out of control and a chance encounter with the wrong people leaves them in a horrific and desperate situation. They are left with no choice but to change their names and create new lives. 

Eighteen years later, they are still trying to forget what happened that summer when one of the sisters goes missing and they are pulled back into their past. 

This time there’s nowhere left to run. 

As much of a thriller as it is a deep exploration of the bonds among sisters, THOSE GIRLS is an unforgettable portrait of desperation, loyalty, and evil.

Source: I purchased a paperback

Add to Goodreads

Review:

Those Girls was an entertaining novel with a crazy plot. I never know what Chevy Stevens will throw at me and she doesn’t disappoint. Those Girls was yet another great book full of mystery, twisted events, and unfortunate circumstances. I had my doubts when her books kept up with a similar voice, but she seemed to get away from the narration of a patient speaking to a psychiatrist and has found a great way to tell those similar messed up stories in a better way. 

The three sisters in the book had a tough life on their farm with their abusive and cruel father. A particularly bad fight had the sisters going on the run with no real plan and one destination in mind. They needed money to get to Vancouver and one of the sisters recommending stopping in Cash Creek where she knew a guy who might help out with some cash. Until their truck broke down and they ended up meeting the wrong people.

The book took us through the beginning in their small town to the events at Cash Creek and then their life afterwards. They changed their names and created a life for themselves in Vancouver.. for a while. And somehow, events took them back to that awful place. I don’t want to give any part of the story away, but it was super messed up and I couldn’t put it down, eager to see what crazy thing would happen next. Whenever I thought I knew where the story would go, it ended up surprising me in some way, keeping me on the edge of my seat. The return to Cash Creek was even more unpredictable since new characters were involved this time and I was eager to see how it would all play out for everyone and if the sisters would continue to survive. 

Chevy Stevens is definitely becoming a fast favorite when I’m looking for a screwed up thriller full of emotion. She twists circumstances and it’s never quite as cut and dry as I think. She creates villains who make me wonder and make me want to know more. I never know who to trust or how it will end and Those Girls was another stunning adventure. I will warn that her books are full of some pretty twisted circumstances, so if you’re sensitive to things that probably cause psychological damage to people, she’s not an author you should be reading. But if you like that sort of thing, her books are so great! 

Star 4

 

2 thoughts on “Review – Those Girls by Chevy Stevens

    • Yeah I’ve seen some less enticing covers for this one. I think this was in the bargain section, actually! I love her books so much and they always end up in the bargain section lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

