Review – Daughter of the Pirate King (DotPK #1) by Tricia Levenseller

 

Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King #1)

By Tricia Levenseller

SummaryThere will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King. 

Source: I received a hardcover in the March 2017 Owlcrate box.

Daughter_of_the_pirate_king_owlcrate.jpeg

Add to Goodreads

Review:

I’ve been kind of in this weird slump lately where I just can’t seem to get into a book. Nothing is hooking me right away. I even reread the Shatter Me series to help get me out of it. Although I enjoyed the last few books I’ve read, I’m not really as into them as I should be. I was in the mood for a snarky and enjoyable heroine who doesn’t let her circumstances get the best of her. Although I finished The Winner’s Trilogy recently and Kestrel kind of fit the description, her actions led to the biggest miscommunication issue and she was always at war with herself which was not what I needed. Someone in the Owlcrate group recommended I begin March’s Owlcrate book and I’m so glad I did!

Alosa was exactly what I needed. I was hooked from the very first page. I loved her confidence and the way she carried herself. She was great at figuring out exactly who she needed to be in any given situation to carry out her plan, but not nearly as harsh as characters like Celaena in Throne of Glass. She was likable and strangely sweet, even though we all know she had this crazy plan up her sleeve. Alosa was “kidnapped” in a big ruse, held captive aboard a ship she had plans to search. Her main goal was to find a map. She did everything she was supposed to, but she was knocked a bit off balance by the ship’s first mate, Riden. But it’s not a romance. Mostly they just had this back and forth banter that they both enjoyed, but they weren’t singing sweet nothings in each other’s ears for the whole novel, which was perfect. 

I absolutely loved Daughter of the Pirate King. It was fun, it had me on the edge of my seat, and it was just pirate-themed enough to be enjoyable, but it wasn’t over the top. I loved Alosa’s character, her push and pull kind of relationship with Riden, and I loved seeing her work through situations to try to come out on top. I didn’t really know what would happen, but I loved the way the story progressed. 

I definitely recommend the book, especially if you’re in the same mood as I was, looking for a heroine you can root for who isn’t overly emotional, but not unlikable. It was the perfect book for me and I feel like it pulled me back into enjoying a book from page one. 

Star 4

Leave a Reply

