Review – The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1) by Mary E. Pearson

The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1)

By Mary E. Pearson

SummaryA princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

Add to Goodreads

Source: I purchased a Kindle copy

Review:

I really enjoyed The Kiss of Deception. It was recommended to me in the Owlcrate Society Facebook group, but I had my doubts because I didn’t quite enjoy The Winner’s Trilogy nearly as much as everyone else in the universe seemed to and that was also recommended at the same time. But I wanted a good YA fantasy that wasn’t Sarah J. Maas because I know she’s not the only great author. I wanted something I could kind of fall into that didn’t make my eyes roll. I wanted a heroine who wasn’t this whiny teenager who had the fate of the world in her hands. I’m so sick of that. 

I admit, once I read the beginning and the character went all woe-is-me and ran away from an arranged marriage on like page one, I put the book down and read some other books. It wasn’t looking to good on the whole quest to find a main character who wasn’t a whiny teenager. But I finally decided I could deal and picked it up again. I’m glad I did because it was really good.

The world building is kind of slow. I like how the author just sort of stuck me in the story and slowly began to explain the regions and the religions and what the main character was really running from. Although Lia is important to the fate of the world somehow, it’s not really clearly how or why just yet, so I’m happy with the direction of the story. I felt like I needed a story where the main character was someone I could respect and her decision to just be a normal person in a small town was exactly what I needed. She wasn’t afraid to get her hands dirty and be a regular person. She didn’t mourn the loss of her station, her power, her money, or anything like that and wasn’t any sort of whiny princess. Still, she was a bit misguided about her thoughts on the whole arranged marriage thing, but she kind of realized how immature it was to just run away from her problems and I liked that. Lia felt like someone realistic and I really liked her character.

The story was mostly from Lia’s point of view, but there were two other POVs as well. The prince, the one Lia ran away from, searched for her. Mostly out of curiosity. It seemed perhaps they’d have a lot in common about the idea of arranged marriages. His POV was simply labelled The Prince. Another POV was from The Assassin. He was sent to kill Lia. It’s what he was trained to do. 

The cool thing about the other POVs was that there were also chapters from the POV of Kaden and Rafe, two men who came to the town Lia stayed in. It was clear that one of them was the prince and the other was the assassin. Some POV chapters were from their POV. Anything that was specific to the thoughts of the prince or the assassin was separated from their named chapters, so we really didn’t know who was who. It seemed like it could possibly venture into love triangle territory, but it wasn’t annoying like she was trying to gain both of their affections or anything. Lia knew something was up with both of them, but she started to kind of connect with Rafe. I think she liked the way they viewed her because it was the first time anyone had ever truly looked at Lia and saw her and not the princess. 

All my thoughts about who was who ended up being way off, but I enjoyed not knowing who was who. And I’m glad that we did finally discover who Rafe and Kaden were. It was like the author knew just how long to drag that on for before moving the plot forward. 

I really enjoyed the story and I’m eager to see what will happen next. I’m next in line on the wait list for book two at the library and I’ve been on it for like a week now, so I’m at the point where I have no idea if I will break down and buy it or just be patient. 

I definitely recommend The Kiss of Deception!

Star 4

 

Leave a Reply

