Review – Scorched (Frigid #2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 

Scorched (Frigid #2) 

By Jennifer L. Armentrout

SummaryJennifer L. Armentrout (also known as J. Lynn), New York Times bestselling author of the Wait for You series, presents her latest book, Scorched.

Sometimes life leaves a mark…

Most days, Andrea doesn’t know whether she wants to kiss Tanner or punch him in the gut. He is seriously hot, with legit bedroom eyes and that firefighter body of his, but he’s a major player, and they can’t get along for more than a handful of minutes. Until now.

Tanner knows he and Andrea have had an epic love/hate relationship for as long as he can remember, but he wants more love than hate from her. He wants her. Now. Tomorrow. But the more he gets to know her, the more it becomes obvious that Andrea has a problem. She’s teetering on the edge, and every time he tries to catch her, she slips through his fingers.

Andrea’s life is spiraling out of control, and it doesn’t matter that Tanner wants to save her, because when everything falls apart and she’s speeding toward rock-bottom, only she can save herself.

Sometimes life makes you work for that happily ever after…

Source: I purchased a kindle copy. 

Add to Goodreads

Review:

Scorched is the second in the Frigid series, but more of a standalone since it involves the side characters from Frigid and their own romance story. I read Frigid, but I didn’t really remember much about it, but that didn’t have any effect on how much I enjoyed Scorched.

Andrea was a fierce and wild character who challenged Tanner. Her best friend found her soulmate, but it came with the baggage of his best friend, Tanner, so the four of them found themselves together a lot. It wasn’t that she didn’t like Tanner. She was aware of him all too much. And while she fought with him and it was sort of a game, she was really more sensitive about how he treated her than she appeared to be. For Tanner, he couldn’t get enough of Andrea, but was always afraid to go there because he kind of sensed it couldn’t just be a one time thing. He had no idea she wasn’t the fierce and party going person he thought she was and that she really was more sensitive. 

I enjoyed watching their relationship change and grow in the book. I love that the author chose to portray someone who was tough and confident on the outside, but struggled very much on the inside and suffered from panic attacks and anxiety. Andrea coped in a way that wasn’t working for her, but was sensitive to being judged and it was a constant cycle. 

I was rooting for Tanner and Andrea to finally use all that energy they spent fighting with each other on something more productive, so it was definitely entertaining to see them finally admit that they had a thing for each other. I also loved that Tanner realized she was a little more fragile than he thought and I liked seeing how he chose to handle that. 

Scorched was a quick read, a gooey romance, and a book that tackled some issues in a positive way. It was kind of perfect for a rainy afternoon and I’m glad I picked it up! My only real criticism is that I didn’t remember much of Sydney and Kyler and I wish the author did a better job of making me like that again. They seemed kind of dull as side characters and I’m not even sure I like either of them, but I’m sure I remember loving them in the first book. I wish their personalities were stronger, I guess. 

Star 4

Leave a Reply

