Book Blogger Hop – July 21

 

Book_blogger_Hop.png

Hosted by Coffee Addicted Writer

This week’s question:

Have you ever read a book or books you would consider ‘toxic’ because of the effect it(they) had on you? If so, which one(s)? 

(submitted by Maria @ A Night’s Dream of Books)

This is a tough question because I’ve definitely read books that have made me uncomfortable or given me nightmares or been otherwise unforgettable in a way that isn’t necessarily good. But I wouldn’t really call any of them toxic because I believe that books can and should make people uncomfortable sometimes. I would never decide to only read books that made me happy, had happy endings, or weren’t controversial. 

I think Oscar Wilde may have said it best:

“As for being poisoned by a book, there is no such thing as that. Art has no influence upon action. It annihilates the desire to act. It is superbly sterile. The books that the world calls immoral are books that show the world its own shame.” ― Oscar WildeThe Picture of Dorian Gray

 

One thought on “Book Blogger Hop – July 21

Leave a Reply

