Review – A Crown of Wishes (The Star-Touched Queen #2) by Roshani Chokshi

 

 

A Crown of Wishes (The Star-Touched Queen #2)

by Roshani Chokshi

SummaryAn ancient mystery. An unlikely union. For one young princess in a state of peril, a dangerous wish could be the only answer…

She is the princess of Bharata—captured by her kingdom’s enemies, a prisoner of war. Now that she faces a future of exile and scorn, Gauri has nothing left to lose. But should she trust Vikram, the notoriously cunning prince of a neighboring land? He promises her freedom in exchange for her battle prowess. Together they can team up and win the Tournament of Wishes, a competition held in a mythical city where the Lord of Wealth promises a wish to the victor. It seems like a foolproof plan—until Gauri and Vikram arrive at the tournament and find that danger takes on new shapes: poisonous courtesans, mischievous story birds, a feast of fears, and twisted fairy revels. New trials will test their devotion, strength, and wits. But what Gauri and Vikram will soon discover is that there’s nothing more dangerous than what they most desire.

Add to Goodreads

Source: I received a digital copy from Netgalley

Review:

The Star-Touched Queen was one of my favorite 2016 debut novels. It took me awhile to finally pick up the sequel because I wasn’t sure if I wanted there to be one. The story ended, but I realized that the book wasn’t about Maya, though she did make a couple appearances. It was about Gauri, her sister. Still, it took me forever to finally read it.

A Crown of Wishes was beautifully written and poetic, with a lavish setting and romance you couldn’t help but root for. 

So why did I rate it three stars?

A Crown of Wishes was too much. I liked the romance and I liked Vikram and Gauri as characters, and I even liked the setting and weird adventure the two went on to participate in the tournament. There was magic and mystery around every corner, but it was over the top. The writing that I appreciated so much in book one was just dripping with poetry and magic and it slowed the pace of the story to the point of being too slow. 

This is one of those examples of why I prefer standalone books. When we want more of something, sometimes more isn’t really what we want. A Crown of Wishes had a good plot and romance, so if you’re prepared for lyrical writing and a majestic setting and you don’t compare it too much to The Star-Touched Queen, it’s a great read. 

Star 3

3 thoughts on “Review – A Crown of Wishes (The Star-Touched Queen #2) by Roshani Chokshi

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t like this book. I personally thought it was BETTER than TSTQ for some reason. I totally get what you said about us not always wanting more when we say we do. I feel that way about the continuation of the Shatter Me series! (I don’t know if you’ve read it)

    Liked by 1 person

    • It seems like it was a big hit for lots of people or it wasn’t as good as the first book. No in between lol.

      I heard about more books in the series and I love the shatter me books and always want more Juliette and Warner, but it’s one of those things I don’t think should be explored. It might ruin it all.

      Like

Leave a Reply

