Book Blogger Hop – August 4

 Book_blogger_Hop.png

Book Blogger Hop

Hosted by Coffee Addicted Writer

 

Do you ever go “way back” to when you first started blogging and look at your old review posts? Do you see any differences from then to now? 

(submitted by Elizabeth @ Silver’s Reviews)

 

Sometimes I do. I started back in 2012 and my reading tastes and blog have definitely evolved. 

The one thing I notice is the way I rated books from 1-5 stars.

I tended to cut books way more slack back then and I’m kind of horrified by some of my 4 star reviews on books I would now rate 2 or 3 stars. Part of that was because I was reading a lot more indie and self published books for review and it’s always a little different when you know your rating will impact the average a lot more than it would on a major title. It’s also different when you’re reading more books with errors and you just kind of get used to it and wouldn’t necessarily get as annoyed and take a star off for it. Now, I buy most of the books I review because life is too short to read bad books and I have much more money than time. I’m reading major titles and I’m not so concerned with rating low. And I notice issues more than I used to because I read so much. I think it’s normal to grow and change in this field. Reviewing isn’t an exact science and I’ve never tried to organize my thoughts in a way to help keep an even keel with star ratings. I’ve struggled over the years to even figure out what 3 stars means because it seems to mean different things to different people. Going with my gut seems to change the star amount.

 

Aside from the star rating, I think a lot of my reviews are still how I feel, it’s just that I would apply my feelings into different star ratings. 

Book_reviewing.jpg

 

5 thoughts on “Book Blogger Hop – August 4

  1. At least it took at least a year for you to be horrified. I go back a month and cringe. I also have the terrible habit of being overly excited about a book and giving it 4 stars, only to wake up the next day like “Just kidding! 2 stars.”

    Like

  2. I find star ratings hideously subjective. One day, you can read something and it just strikes the right cord for the mood you’re in and it’s ‘oh wow! 5 stars!” Then a year later (a month later!) you are in a very different place and you re-read and this WTF? I’d barely give this a 3. That’s why I don’t put much stock in them. I’m more interested in what people like / don’t like as I think that will tell me more than the rating. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I didn’t use star ratings in the beginning. Then, once I started cross-posting, I started using star ratings on the blog.

    Like

  4. Good point about the star ratings. I’m much tougher on ‘traditionally published’ authors. I also try to keep mine to a more critical level these days. Still don’t diss them, mind.

    Like

Leave a Reply

