Review – Firestarter by Stephen King

 

Firestarter

By Stephen King

SummaryFirst, a man and a woman are subjects of a top-secret government experiment designed to produce extraordinary psychic powers.

Then, they are married and have a child. A daughter.

Early on the daughter shows signs of a wild and horrifying force growing within her. Desperately, her parents try to train her to keep that force in check, to act normal.”

Now the government wants its brainchild back for its own insane ends.

Add to Goodreads

Source: I purchased a paperback from a used book store.

Review:

When my husband and I started watching Stranger Things, he said that Eleven’s story reminded him of Firestarter. Amazingly, I had never seen the movie, but it just took a few bits of research to realize it was based off of the Stephen King novel. Stories like this are right up my alley, so I began the hunt for the book (which wasn’t easy, actually). I finally found it a few months later and dug right in. 

Firestarter was interesting. And like most Stephen King novels, it was pretty in depth in regards to exploring who people are and what makes them tick. I loved the concept. I’m already intrigued by government conspiracies, especially those that involve strange drugs and testing because there is some truth to that in American history and I love seeing the aftermath had any of those tests been successful. What if someone gained some sort of mental power because of top secret testing and weird serums? It’s such a great idea that anyone can build on.

In Firestarter, two test subjects gained slight mental powers. And then they fell in love, got married, and reproduced. Their child, Charlie McGee, was the firestarter, with the ability to create heat and flame, from small to large and explosive.

For much of the book, Charlie and her father, Andy, were on the run. Her mother had been murdered by the agency called The Shop, and found them after they got careless and settled into a place. Andy could “push” people and make them believe different things and influence them. But it wasn’t easy and it gave him headaches that sometimes took him days to recover from.

I don’t really want to give any of the plot away, but I do have to admit that for a book with such a cool concept, it wasn’t as exciting as I’d imagined. There was just a lot of running, a lot of Andy being worried about stuff, a lot of him trying to comfort his daughter, and a lot of near misses. Some sections switched to agents working for The Shop as well. The second half of the book was a little more interesting because Rainbird was interested in getting Charlie to unleash her abilities and he was playing both her and The Shop, but I was mostly just intrigued by his insight into human nature.

It’s difficult to rate because it came out in the early 80s and there have been hoards of fiction regarding the same topics that I feel have better expanded upon some of the aspects of conspiracies, testings, abilities, etc. For its time, Firestarter was probably pretty awesome, but today it just didn’t impact me as much as I’d hoped. There wasn’t a lot of emotional connection to the characters and ultimately, that’s what made it fall kind of flat. I would’ve rather seen through the eyes of Charlie, I think. I would’ve liked a more complicated agency and more of a complicated plot, but I did enjoy the book.

 Star 4

One thought on “Review – Firestarter by Stephen King

Leave a Reply

