Review – Rant by Chuck Palahniuk

Rant

By Chuck Palahniuk

SummaryBuster “Rant” Casey just may be the most efficient serial killer of our time. A high school rebel, Rant Casey escapes from his small town home for the big city where he becomes the leader of an urban demolition derby called Party Crashing. Rant Casey will die a spectacular highway death, after which his friends gather the testimony needed to build an oral history of his short, violent life.

Add to Goodreads

Source: I purchased a paperback

Review:

Rant was weird. Obviously. 

It was told as an Oral History from multiple perspectives. 

It’s very difficult to review the book because I wasn’t really sure what I was reading for most of the book. Like any Chuck Palahniuk books, it was kind of gross, really weird, completely f’ed up, and made many jabs at society and human nature and people.

I mean, does anyone pick up a Chuck Palahniuk book for any other reason than to experience all of those things at once?

I kind of loved Rant, but it was annoying and frustrating and it took some help from the internet to figure out what the F I just read. But then I also appreciated how crazy it was. 

I think I might need to reread this one now that I know who everyone really is and how the time frames work. 

I don’t recommend this book because I can’t recommend any Chuck Palahniuk books to any strangers or friends because as soon as they open one they’d just assume I’m a deranged psychopath and never speak to me again. But if you’re already a fan, then sure, I recommend it.  

Star 3

Leave a Reply

